Lookin’ Good.

8 May

We recently completed several of the tests that needed to take place after our last appointment with the geneticist. I have to say the anxiety build up until the day of the internal sonograms was excruciating. Thankfully, the little guy did beautifully (with the help of a mild sedative) and all organs were intact.

Although we were told it was unlikely that there was going to be a huge rearrangement of internal organs, it is REALLY hard to find comfort in statistics at this point. The reason they suspected Elliott’s internal reproductive organs were in tact is the normal appearance of his external organs. In other words, if Elliott had ambiguous genitalia (which he does not have), it would be more likely for a rearrangement internally.

During my research of 45Y/46X, I spoke with a therapist who told me that in some studies there has been evidence of a higher proportion of undetected 45Y/46X genetic makeup in the LBGT population. I am by no means suggesting that being a member of this community is a defect, merely sharing something I found interesting. I read heartbreaking stories of families who had to ‘pick’ the gender of their child when they were born with MGD. And on the opposite end, there are people who believe that unless there is a health risk, the child should not have reassignment surgery. I don’t know how I would have reacted if this was our situation. But I can’t lie…I am thankful that the decision was made for us.

2 Responses to “Lookin’ Good.”

  1. deafgrrrl June 9, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    I identify as genderqueer and have 18q- syndrome. (although no sex chromosome differences that I know of) I’m genetically a female, but also sometimes wish I was a guy too. I am very interested in queer theory. I know people who are transgender/intersex/transsexual often say that they wonder if it’s really them that wants to chose a gender identity or societal pressure.
    My best advice for you in raising a boy who may have gender issues, is to be open about gender roles and things like that……be open to the fact that he may be gay. I’m still struggling with the fact that I am gay myself. But keep on telling him and showing him that boys and girls can do ANYTHING and they shouldn’t be limited by gender!

    • leonardloves June 9, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks for the response! We are always so encouraged when we hear stories of people like yourself. And I love what you said about boys and girls doing anything. We try to raise both of our children that way, not just Elliott. If he were gay, we’d be happy to support and love him just the same.

      I haven’t found much literature yet on the ties between sex chromosome deletions and a stronger chance of being gay. I did find it interesting from a scientific stance. Obviously the studies would then support the belief that many people, including ourselves, hold that sexuality is not something a person “chooses” in life other than choosing what is natural to them in either orientation.

Leave a Reply

